Fall in Love Raspberry Almond Crunch Cake

So usually I have a strict no boxed cake mix rule. Very rarely do I ever purchase pre-packaged cake/brownie/muffin mixes A) Because of all the “extra” (read: unnecessary and chemical-y) ingredients and B) Because it’s just so darn fun to make my own, but for this cake I make an exception. You really can’t get the same taste if you don’t use a white cake mix. For those of you still weary about boxed mix, here’s a great DIY recipe.

Anyway, my mom made this for me once in high school, and I have been obsessed ever since.

She keeps the recipe on a tiny scrap of notebook paper in our kitchen Drawer of Extra Crap, and I have been terrified that she would lose it before I got the chance to make it myself. Fear not! I discovered that it’s actually a long-lost recipe from Women’s Day Magazine. The original recipe calls for sour cream, but I have found that using non-fat Greek yogurt instead actually makes the cake much more tender + moist, and cuts down on some of that added saturated fat.

Since I am normally just baking for myself and Aleks, plus a few lucky friends at school, I tend to cut the recipe in half. If you need a quick coffee cake to bring to a brunch or work function, this will definitely be your new go to!

Ingredients:

Crunch Topping:

  • 1/2 c. classic white cake mix (from a 16.25 oz box, I use Betty Crocker)
  • 1/3 c. packed light-brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp. cold unsalted butter
  • 3/4 c. roughly chopped almonds w/ skins

Cake:

  • Remaining classic white cake mix
  • 1 c. non-fat Greek yogurt
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, softened
  • 2 large room temperature eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract
  • 1/2 pint (6 oz) fresh raspberries, washed

Instructions:

  1. Heat oven to 325°F. Lightly coat a 9-in. springform pan with nonstick spray. Alternatively, you can use two shallow square pans for two smaller cakes.
  2. Topping: Put first three ingredients in a small bowl. Cut with pastry blender until mixture resembles small peas. Stir in almonds.
  3.  Cake: In large bowl with mixer on low speed beat remaining cake mix and next four ingredients one minute to blend. On medium speed, beat two minutes (mixture is very thick). Fold in berries, do not over mix; spread in prepared pan. Press Topping into a ball between hands. Break off small clumps; sprinkle evenly over cake. Press lightly.
  4.  Bake 1 hour 10 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean
  5.  Cool completely in pan on wire rack. Run a thin knife around edge of pan; remove pan sides. Loosen cake from pan bottom with a wide spatula; slide cake onto serving plate.
Leave a Reply

