Speculoos Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soooo sorry I have been M.I.A for a few weeks, I’ve had to put my cooking on the back burner (terrible pun, I know) to focus on finals. But luckily all that silly school business is over, and I can get back to what I love doing most: making a mess in the kitchen. Today I have a BOMB cookie recipe made with Trader Joe’s Cookie Butter, also known as Biscoff or speculoos cookie spread. Do you guys know about this stuff? It’s amazing. It’s essentially gingerbread cookies ground up into a butter. It’s honestly addicting. And there are so many different ways to use it! I decided to give it a try in triple chocolate chip cookies.

IMG_5826

I didn’t plan on these cookies having three types of chocolate, but when I geared up to bake and realized I only had 1/4 cup of any one kind of chocolate chip, I just decided to throw them all in! Best part is, cookie butter goes with all three of them πŸ™‚

First, add one stick of softened butter and 1/3 cookie butter or any other speculoos spread to a medium mixing bowl.

IMG_5828

Cream the butters together until very smooth. Then, add in both types of sugar: light brown and granulated. Make sure to mix the sugars very well until they are no longer grainy, and the mixture is fluffy. Then you’ll want to add your egg and vanilla, and beat for one more minute. Remember to scrape down the bowl with a rubber spatula between mixes.

IMG_5831

If you’re impatient like me, you’ll skip separating the dry ingredients and just add them right into the wet. My mom gets mad at me when I do this, but I think the cookies come out the same! Add your flour, baking soda and salt to the wet ingredients and mix very well until combined. I even had to get my hands in there to make sure it was all incorporated! Then, sprinkle in your white, milk, and semi sweet chocolate chips. You could use just white or just semi sweet if you’d like, but I wouldn’t recommend using milk on its own.

IMG_5834

Now this is where I get a little obsessive. I like to measure out each ball of dough on my kitchen scale to be exactly 1.5 oz. But if you don’t mind slightly different sizes, use a cookie scoop to plop each ball of dough onto a silicon lined or parchment lined baking sheet. I then pressed down the cookies a little with the bottom of a glass, since they won’t spread as much on their own as normal CCC’s.

IMG_5835

Bake on 350 degrees for 10 minutes, turning the sheet around halfway through. After they are done, they will look very pale and undercooked. However, don’t keep then in the oven or they will turn rock hard. Instead, let them set for 5 minutes in the baking sheet on the stove to finish cooking and setting. And voila! These will be your new go-to cookies when you want to change up your cookie rotation.

IMG_5837

Ingredients:Β 

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened (one stick)
  • 1/3 cupΒ Trader Joe’s Cookie Butter (or other speculoos spread)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4-1/3 cups each milk chocolate, semi sweet chocolate and white chocolate chips

Instructions:

  1. Cream softened butter and cookie butterΒ together in a large bowl. Add in brown sugar and sugar and cream again.
  2. Add eggs and vanilla and mix well.
  3. Add flour, baking soda, and salt and beat together.
  4. Mix in chocolate chips until evenly distributed.
  5. Roll into 1.5 oz balls, and press down with bottom of a glass.
  6. Bake for 9-10 minutes on 350 degrees, turning sheet halfway through.
  7. Let set for five minutes in pan on the stove before enjoying! Makes 20 cookies.
Leave a Reply

